OSI 7-Layer Model

OSI 7-Layer Model

Proficiency Level 1
Basic Understanding

Explains the basic concept of layered communications and network architecture.

Identifies the seven layers, their primary functions and associated principles.

Describes the basic process and communications among the layers.

Knows how to locate standard documents that describe the model and 7- layer standards.

Proficiency Level 2
Working Experience

Participates in implementation or support of multi-layer architecture.

Describes common content of headers and trailers within peer OSI levels.

Cites examples of an entity within a specific layer and it’s interactions with adjacent layers.

Performs basic troubleshooting of communications among and between service layers.

Describes a specific layer and associated security features and considerations.

Proficiency Level 3
Extensive Experience

Has experience with implementing networks in line with OSI standards.

Shares techniques for defining layer boundaries and optimizing information flow.

Participates in the selection and implementation of tools for interfacing between layers.

Troubleshoots complex problems across multiple layers.

Consults on OSI protocols and their integrations with LAN, WAN, TCP/IP, etc.

Proficiency Level 4
Subject Matter Expert

Contributes knowledge and experience in architecting complex OSI-based networks.

Participates in integrating OSI with other network and operational frameworks.

Explains costs and benefits of implementing OSI compliant architecture.

Shares experiences with issues and considerations for migrating toward 7 layer architecture.

Champions organization’s network architecture and adherence to OSI 7- layers.

Elaborates on the history and evolution of multi-layered framework and architecture.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *